Worst Thing About PCOS

ImageSo what’s the worst thing about PCOS?  Do you have a worst?  The hubs and I were sitting here talking and I was listing off the things that I hate about PCOS, and how it just feels so unfair sometimes.  But who doesn’t feel like that when they have something wrong with them… in all honesty I am sure everyone can relate to the feeling of life not being fair.

I was saying, basically listing off, anything I could think of that I have disliked because of PCOS… and the thing is there are a lot of them, and I am sure everyone I listed off, most Cysters could relate to at least one of them or all.  The biggest thing for me is feeling like a failure when it comes to giving my hubs a child.  However, how often do we hear what our spouse thinks the worst thing is?  Do they speak of it?  Do they tell you?  Do you ask? or are you afraid to ask?  It was in that moment I asked him what he hated most about it.

This is what he had to say:

The thing I hate the most is that it has robbed me (Mrs. O) of many things: happiness, confidence, dreams, etc.  How it has robbed our marriage of the same things.  However, despite those things he says it has shown  him many wonderful things about me (Mrs. O) as well.  How I have grown into the person I am today, how though it may have taken me time to find myself again… the point is I did.  He sees my daily fight as an inspiration because many people would quit if they were in my shoes.

And here I thought he would just list off a bunch of negatives.  His comment really hit me and in a good way.  However, I had to ask how he felt about me not being able to give him a child… did he see me as a failure?  Did I rob him of his dream of having a family.  Even though part of me really didn’t want to know, I had to know how he really felt.

He said:

No he did not see me as a failure.  Even though he wants to have a child that does not mean we cannot have a child through adoption or other means.  And even if we never had a child he would still die a happy man.  Kid or no kid we are family just as we are… a child does not make us more a family than we are now.

He has a great point we are a family and we have always thought about adopting even if we had our own.  Despite that, it is still hard to not feel like I have failed him in some way, but his answers show me more of why I married him… why I fell in love with him.  God truly knew who I needed when he gave me him.  This moment made me fall in love with him even more.

So fellow Cysters have you ever asked your spouse the thing they find the worst about PCOS?  Also, what is the one thing that you find the worst?  Let me know in a comment.

6 thoughts on “Worst Thing About PCOS

  1. Syn Pcos says:

    We have this conversation a couple time over the passed twelve years. It is always such a relief to know that to him I am enough. Family for us is two and we are learning how to love each other without reservation of guilt in that both of of have infertility. Life is looking better as we come to the end of our TTC journey. We are actually planning for our future. Something that we have neglected while TTC. Good luck to you and I hope you get your dreams.

    • The Ohler's says:

      I know how it feels to put things on hold. Last year is when I finally came to terms with that I forgot to keep living my life. I know I wrote a blog post about it, but it’s true. I stopped living my life and forgot about the rest of my dreams I had… and now it’s time to just push forward and fulfill my other dreams and let the whole kid thing play out when it will.

      Thanks for your reply… it is nice to hear others experience. Wish you all the best in planning for your future 🙂

  2. Rebekah g says:

    The things I hate most about PCOS is hair growing everywhere except where it is needed(my scalp). I have been diagnosed with PCOS for about two years but knew from researching symptoms that I have had it since I was about 14 years old.
    I feel my case is somewhat severe..I have substantial hair loss and excess hair on my tummy,and under my jaw line…to the degree of tweeting like twice a day. I have very stubborn tummy fat,major sugar cravings,depression,long term irregular periods(until I was 19). I feel very unwomanly and like I am not enough. It has severely affected my social life and relationships with men. It’s not easy to share our fears and weaknesses,so thank you for doing so 🙂

    • The Ohler's says:

      I know how it feels with the hair part… mine looked like a beard ugh. I started doing electrolysis which has help immensely. There are so many things I dislike and have issues with I could be writing forever… I am sure you could too.

      I sometimes don’t feel like a girl and it sucks.

      Thanks for sharing yours 🙂

  3. Ashley says:

    So I’m new to PCOS. I don’t feel like I have the severity when it comes to hair growth, but I do feel more masculine. I hate being fat, and I hate that the reason I’m fat is partially because of PCOS but in order to help control PcOS I have to lose weight. Does anyone else feel like its an infinite loop type thing?? But overall the thing that bothers both my fiancée and I the most is the potential infertility. We aren’t ready to TTC just yet, but knowing that its going to be harder and I could potentially have miscarriages stresses us to no end. Before I ever had a dream of what I wanted from a career, I knew I wanted to be a wife and mom. I am really thankful to have my future husband through this process though, and that is the best part.

    • Mr & Mrs O says:

      I now a lot of the time losing weight has helped fertility. When I lost a bunch of weight I was able to get pregnant… on top of that my levels and hormones were normal again.

      It is hard to lose the weight, but it is better for you and it is possible to do. I really like the low amylose diet 🙂

      If you ever have questions or just need to talk feel free to private message me or ask any question you like on here, our youtube or facebook.

      The biggest thing though is fixing the weight issue (mostly the insulin issue) the name is deceiving and most of the havoc comes from some type of insulin issue… it seems once that is fixed a lot of the other issues are fixed as well.

Leave a Note

